WMP 11 - Disabling automatic synchronization

December 2016




Issue


Using Windows Media Player for multimedia playback as default has one major drawback, you probably noticed that when you insert a removable disk (flash drive or MP3 player),automatic synchronization wizard will open.
  • Just click on Finish to stop the wizard.
  • Opening the removable disk, you will notice the presence of a file WMPInfo (backup file for synchronization settings), if you remove this folder whenever you reconnect your drive it will be copied again (just hide this file).

Solution

  • In Windows Media Player, if you create a sync list, synchronization will be triggered automatically when you insert the disk and to avoid this go to:
  • In Windows Media Player, go to the Synchronize.
  • Right-click on your removable disk.
  • Click on Advanced.
  • Uncheck the Start Synchronization when connecting the device and click OK.
  • Now the procedure is done manually,you must press on Start Synchronization to activate it .

Related :

This document entitled « WMP 11 - Disabling automatic synchronization » from CCM (ccm.net) is made available under the Creative Commons license. You can copy, modify copies of this page, under the conditions stipulated by the license, as this note appears clearly.