Google - Prevent your username and profile picture from being associated with promotional contents (Shared Endorsements)

December 2016



Google has announced a major update in its Terms of Service. As from November 11, the name and picture of Google profiles will appear below some promotional content (shared endorsements.).

Google already make use of the individual recommendations to customize the search experience of its users through its various services: Search engine, Google Play Music, etc. .

When making searches, users will see the content promoted by their Google Plus contacts, through:
  • comments and reviews.
  • +1
  • Subscription to the Google + pages of a particular service or products.


Upon sharing a recommendation, the name and picture associated with a Google Account can for example may appear in text ads displayed in the search results pages of Google, Google Street View (reviews on small businesses ) or Google Shopping (product reviews).

How to prevent your username and photo (Google +) from being displayed in the "Shared Endorsements":
  • Users have the ability to configure their Google account on this link :https://plus.google.com/settings/endorsements
  • Simply uncheck "Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads." and click on Save.
  • Click on Continue and your new settings will be automatically saved.

Learn more: Shared Endorsements
Photo credit: Google

Original document published on CommentcaMarche.net

Related :

This document entitled « Google - Prevent your username and profile picture from being associated with promotional contents (Shared Endorsements) » from CCM (ccm.net) is made available under the Creative Commons license. You can copy, modify copies of this page, under the conditions stipulated by the license, as this note appears clearly.