Disabling/Enabling System Restore in Vista

December 2016





After disinfection, it is recommended to deactivate and then reactivate System Restore (to clean it) as sometimes the restore points can be infected.

Click the Vista logo right-click "Computer" then click "Properties":

Click "System Protection":


Uncheck the box of the disk(s) for which you want to disable System Restore:

A confirmation is required and inform you that the existing restore points will be deleted without any possibility of backtracking:


To reactivate System Restore, just check the box again but this does not recover the old points system restore.

Related :

This document entitled « Disabling/Enabling System Restore in Vista » from CCM (ccm.net) is made available under the Creative Commons license. You can copy, modify copies of this page, under the conditions stipulated by the license, as this note appears clearly.