How to deactivate a Twitter account

October 2016

How to deactivate a Twitter account

In this short tutorial you will learn how to deactivate your Twitter account!
  • The procedure is simple and hassle free, but you must keep in mind that all your data will be permanently deleted (after a delay of 30 days)!
  • NB: If you still want to get an offline copy of your tweets, read: Twitter - Download a copy of all your data

The procedure is as follows:
  • Sign in to Twitter
  • Go to Settings > Account settings > Deactivate my account

  • Enter your current password when prompted and validate the operation.

Related :

This document entitled « How to deactivate a Twitter account » from CCM ( is made available under the Creative Commons license. You can copy, modify copies of this page, under the conditions stipulated by the license, as this note appears clearly.