Safe Browsing in Google Chrome

December 2016

The Google Chrome app for Android (v47.0 onward) is shipped with a safety feature called Safe Browsing. Here's everything you need to know about this new feature.

What is Safe Browsing?

Safe browsing is a safety feature which was until now limited to the desktop version of Google Chrome. Its role is to detect and block websites distributing malicious content (malware infection, PUPs, phishing…). Should you ever try to connect to harmful websites, you’ll be redirected to a page with a warning message that reads, "Deceptive site ahead." The only alternative is to click on the Back to Safety button and resume your browsing session.

How To Disable Safe Browsing in the Google Chrome App

The Safe Browsing feature will sometimes flag websites as harmful, leaving you with no other choice but to turn it off.

When confronted with such situations, open the Google Chrome app and tap More > Settings:

Go to Advanced settings > Privacy:

Clear the Safe Browsing - Protect you and your device from dangerous sites checkbox:


Related :

This document entitled « Safe Browsing in Google Chrome  » from CCM (ccm.net) is made available under the Creative Commons license. You can copy, modify copies of this page, under the conditions stipulated by the license, as this note appears clearly.