How To Enable 'Undo Send' in Gmail

October 2016

Have you ever experienced a situation where you have accidentally sent an email to the wrong person and wished that you could cancel it? Well, Google has some good news for you: you can now unsend an email in Gmail.

This article will introduce you to the Undo Send feature in Gmail, which can be found on the Settings page.

Undo Send Emails in Gmail

Log in to your Gmail account. Once connected, click the cog icon in the top-right section of the page, and select Settings.

Next, head to the General section, and scroll to Undo Send. Tick the Enable Undo Send checkbox:


By default, the send cancellation period is set to 10 seconds, but you can configure these settings to your liking by selecting one of the options in the drop-down menu.

Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page to finish enabling the feature.

How To Cancel a Sent Email

Moving forward, you will see a small confirmation box at the top of your screen each time you send an email.


If you'd like to undo your send, simply click the Undo option to cancel your email. As long as you click the button within the designated time, your email will not send:

Upon cancellation, you will be brought back to the message composition window, where you will have the opportunity to make changes to your message.

Related :

This document entitled « How To Enable 'Undo Send' in Gmail » from CCM (ccm.net) is made available under the Creative Commons license. You can copy, modify copies of this page, under the conditions stipulated by the license, as this note appears clearly.