Twitter is a great platform for sharing your ideas in short bursts. But if for any reason you find that you want to close your Twitter account, then this step-by-step guide will help you out.
N.B. Twitter will still keep your account available and your information saved for a period 30 days after you delete it. After that period, your data will be permanently deleted from the micro blogging platform.
Deactivate Twitter Account
Log in to your account. Click Settings > Account > Deactivate my account.
In the new page that opens, click Deactivate @[your username], and follow the onscreen instructions:
Restore Your Twitter Account
As mentioned above, you have a 30-day grace period to reactivate your account before your details are permanently deleted.
To reactivate your account, all you need to do is log in with your Twitter credentials. If the reactivation is successful, then your homepage will be displayed. Otherwise, you will need to create a new account.