You are mistaken. Your account was not automatically deleted. Facebook accounts don't ever get deleted automatically! You would have received a few email from Facebook about your deletion and there is always a 15 day waiting period in deactivation before the account is permanently deleted from the server.
Your description about option etc does not make any sense.