Master Sheet to affect multiple sheets

Closed
akiroche - Oct 5, 2017 at 01:20 PM
vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 - Oct 5, 2017 at 09:46 PM
Hello,

I am not sure how to explain this... I have a master sheet that has a list of all the names and grades for each row alphabetically. I have it color coded as well for anything starting with F or D. With this information, I have separate sheets that have the case workers students and counselors with the same information from the master. Lately, I have been copying and pasting each row from the master to these separate sheets. Is there a way so that if I alter any information from the master it will affect the other sheets? The effect would have to be based on their name and corresponding row.
Could I send you the file? Thanks.

-Aki

Related:

1 response

vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 259
Oct 5, 2017 at 09:46 PM
Hello Aki,

Yes, its a good idea to upload a sample file. However, try the following code in the meantime:-

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Application.EnableEvents = False

If Intersect(Target, Columns("A:A")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
Target.EntireRow.Copy Sheets(Target.Value).Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0)

Application.EnableEvents = True
Application.ScreenUpdating = True

End Sub

With this code, I'm assuming:-

- The names are in Column A.
- Your data starts in row 2 with headings in row 1.

The code is a Worksheet_Change event and needs to be placed into the worksheet module. To implement the code:-

- Right click on the Master sheet tab.
- Select "View Code" from the menu that appears.
- In the big white field that then appears, paste the above code.