Ask a question Report

How to execute .exe file in MacBook [Solved/Closed]

duckhan - Latest answer on Oct 17, 2014 02:30PM
Hello,
I just download the msn file to install but I don't how to execute the .exe file. I am a rookie of Apple.
Thank you.
Read more 
Answer
+34
moins plus
Hi There,

Apple computers running MacOSx are unable to execute .exe files. If you had a problem with an important exe you really need to open you could buy VMWare Fusion, this will allow you to install Windows on a Virtual Drive and run it from there.
Another posability is to create another partition and run Windows in a dual boot environment, this is the best way to go if you are doing resourse hungry things such as Video Editing.

Answer
+20
moins plus
Hello frenz...I know m a bit too late to answer this but doing so just because I found it really easy. Well, there is a software called winebottler for mac, you just need to install that in your mac and then simply open your .exe file with wine by right clicking and "open with". Once wine opens up you can select the appropriate options and click okay and your executable file would be converted to mac file which can be readily executed on mac.
Thanks & regards

Answer
+16
moins plus
If you want to open .exe files on a mac, there are ways to do it. Try darwine http://darwine.sourceforge.net/download.php
or a PC emulator, there not perfect, unless your willing to pay a bit of money, but they do work for just running setups. Although if you are just trying to install msn, i'd just go to the website, and download the mac version, cause i know they do make one. But if you evr have an .exe program that doesn't have a mac version to go with it, try some of the sites i mentioned above.

Answer
+11
moins plus
'EXE's are Windows-only files. The will not run on Mac OS X. Download the Mac version instead.

stillWater- Aug 9, 2010 07:14AM
I run .exe on my mac all the time. Just use Mono to compile your source code :)
r- Oct 14, 2012 08:48PM