Setting up my own DNS Server

Solved/Closed
CranialSurge - Sep 16, 2008 at 04:37 PM
 Hasan - Aug 25, 2013 at 06:40 AM
Hi,

I have my own registered domain. I want to set up my own DNS server and host a website completely independent of any third party hosting service. I have Windows Server 2003 and have installed the DNS role and configured it with a single forward zone (I am new to this terminology and am not sure if I am using it correctly). Lets say my domain is xyz.com I have the DNS role set up for xyz.com as the domain with a forward lookup zone. Also, I have reserved an internal IP to my server using the router's DHCP reservation list. So I basically have a static IP for my server on the internal network. How do I go about setting up this infrastructure so that I can have my own DNS set up and host my website ?
Related:

20 responses

Hi My name is David., I'd here you what to fine out how to setup DNS on your home Network., The very first thing that you do is setup your Router here are the steps to take.

step 1. Contact your ISP
step 2. And ack for and Static IP Block on your Network you will need at least two Computer 4 is Ideal.
step 3. the Subnet must be change tp /29 for for 2 computer or /30 for 6 computers.
step 4 One of the static IP's must be your Router., There For if you have and /30 Subnet you can only have 5 Computers.

know setting up your Router (The Router is your Gatway)

Step 1. go in your Rounter Config. page to setup
step 2. the first thing you do is Disable DHCP service
step 3. disable NAT
step 4. disable your Routers Fire wall
step 5. Turn on DMZ port but not nesuary
step 6. reboot your

Know seting up your Modem

step 1. go in your Modem Config. page to setup
step 2. Disable DHCP service
step 3.Disable NAT
step 4 Disable The Fire Wall
step 5. Turn on IP Bridging
step 6. Reboot Modem

Know on your Computers to setup your Fire wall.

Step 1. Click Start, click Run, type firewall.cpl, and then click OK.