Ask a question Report

Acer dvd/cd not there [Solved/Closed]

Ottawabill - Latest answer on Jan 24, 2013 10:50AM
Hello,
I just bought an acer computer with vista self extracting files. set it up last night but it doesn't see the dvd/cdrom, no drive letter for it, and no cd devices shown in the device listing. I am new to vista and have no idea how to have it recognise this drive. It does see the usb and memory card drives, but nothing for the cd. The cd does work ie has power to it. Because I have no disk (self extract) I can't just re-install...
At a loss!!
Thanks
Bill
Read more 
Answer
+124
moins plus
Hello, I have the same problem except my computer is about 6 months old. One day my DVD drive was recognized and now the computer can't find it. What did you end up doing to fix this?

reyn None - Aug 28, 2009 09:40PM
It's not letting me delete it. It says error while deleting key.
WENDE None - Dec 29, 2009 09:03PM
THANKS THIS WAS SOOOOO HELPFUL. IT WORKED AND I AM VERY THANKFUL!!!
Sebastian- Aug 3, 2010 12:40PM
hey i have same problems, ( on and off) but i cant find any filter only 4 folders 0000, 0001, 0002, and Properties that i cant open ...any ideas
thx in adv
Laura- Oct 29, 2012 11:57AM
Hi this fixed the problem for 24 hrs, but CD drive no longer works again? Any ideas?
Brian- Jan 24, 2013 10:50AM
It worked for me thanks,
Answer
+25
moins plus
If it's new take it back and get another.

If that's not an option - open up the case and remove and reconnect the IDE cable to the DVD drive (with the power off). The IDE cable is big flat one.

It's either a dead DVD drive, a bad cable or motherboard problem with the IDE plug.

Answer
+18
moins plus