<Windows root>\system32\hal.dll. missing

Closed
Joseph - Nov 30, 2010 at 03:40 PM
 shedrick - Mar 11, 2016 at 06:49 PM
Hello
I tried to install a new copy of XP Home SPII on my Compaq Mini 110c-1110SA. I have been running the SP III on my system successfully for several months with no problems until my system was attacked by a virus and I used system restore and since then my Roxio Instant Restore has been asking for Hello,
'BOT.MSI'

I am attempted a normal CD install using an external USB DVD drive. I Just bought the DVD Drive...It works on my friends laptop and mine other laptop very well..
When I attempt to install XP, all of the initial files are loaded, and then the message "starting Windows" comes up. Then everything aborts with a blue screen that says windows has been shut down, and if it's the first time this error message has come up, restart the computer, otherwise check for viruses, remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllers, check your hard drive to make sure it's properly configured and terminated, run CHKDSK /F and restart.

Technical information:

***STOP: 0x000000Bb (0xF7A22524, 0xC0000034, 0x0000000, 0x00000000

Which is not real helpful...?
This has happened with two separate XP SPII disks, both one that came with my old Compaq laptop, and with a brand new OEM version of XP Home SPII that I bought this afternoon. I get the BSOD before Windows starts, so I have not had any opportunity to eliminate partitions, etc.

Please Help Me I would be expecting your reply as soon as possible..
Related:

1 response

Daina Peter Posts 5 Registration date Wednesday December 1, 2010 Status Member Last seen December 7, 2010 1
Dec 1, 2010 at 06:44 AM
Discussed below are some points that will help fix system32 file issues in your system:

* Remove active threats
* Use system file checker
* Repair install or reinstall

Remove active threats