Dell Inspirion 1525 computer w/black screen

Closed
srhargraves Posts 6 Registration date Sunday January 2, 2011 Status Member Last seen January 2, 2011 - Jan 2, 2011 at 02:00 AM
jack4rall Posts 6428 Registration date Sunday June 6, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen July 16, 2020 - Jan 10, 2011 at 07:27 AM
Hello,

I left a usb cable from my IPhone plugged into my dell computer with Windows XP and turned my computer off. When I turned my computer back on the usb cable was still plugged in and my computer now goes to a black screen with a blinking cursor in the top left hand corner. Can you please help me get this fixed as I am a college student taking on-line classes and really need my computer. Thanks in advance for your help.
Related:

8 responses

jack4rall Posts 6428 Registration date Sunday June 6, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen July 16, 2020
Jan 2, 2011 at 02:21 AM
Hello,

Try this 1

Remove the USB cable.

Unplug the power cord --> Remove the battery --> Hold the power button for 60

seconds --> Connect the power supply then try to switch ON the laptop and later

put the battery back into the laptop.

Good Luck
srhargraves Posts 6 Registration date Sunday January 2, 2011 Status Member Last seen January 2, 2011
Jan 2, 2011 at 05:49 AM
I tried this and it doesn't do a thing. I am still at a blank screen with a blinking cursor at the top left. I can't even get to the screen where I can load the computer in safe mode. Everything is just a blank black screen with the blinking cursor.
Anonymous User
Jan 2, 2011 at 06:05 AM
Hello,

Try this:

1) When you switch ON your computer, start tapping the "F8" key to get

"Windows Advanced Options"( if boot menu appears, press "Esc" key and keep

tapping the F8 key)

2) Select "Safe Mode"

3) Go to Control Panel -> Backup and Restore -> Recover system settings or your computer -> Open System Restore -> follow the wizard to restore the system to the state before the issue occurred

Regards!