Excel Merge Text files

Solved/Closed
madambath Posts 19 Registration date Friday May 7, 2010 Status Member Last seen October 4, 2011 - Sep 30, 2011 at 08:50 AM
madambath Posts 19 Registration date Friday May 7, 2010 Status Member Last seen October 4, 2011 - Oct 4, 2011 at 12:10 PM
Dear Forum Members,
As I am not a VB expert I have copied some codes and edited to suit for my purpose. My idea is to combine many .pyc files in a folder into one excel sheet. (.pyc files are output files from a lab machine, which is rather like a .txt file). My codes are working sometimes but sometimes not (the file has two Sheets, named "Sheet1" and "AllData"). When debug it gives a "Application-defined or object-defined error" at line "ActiveSheet.Name = g". I request your help to solve this issue. As mentioned I didn't have knowledge in working, please give an explanation. Regards, Pramod

The codes used are here below:

Sub pycfiles()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim z As Long, e As Long
Dim g As String
Dim strFolder As String
Set fd = Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogFolderPicker)
With fd
.Title = "Select the folder into which the documents will be saved."
If .Show = -1 Then
strFolder = .SelectedItems(1) & "\"
Else
MsgBox "The documents will be saved in the default document file location."
strFolder = ""
End If
End With
Sheets("Sheet1").Select
Cells(1, 1) = "=cell(""filename"")"
Cells(1, 2) = "=left(A1,find(""["",A1)-1)"
Cells(2, 1).Select
f = Dir(Cells(1, 2) & "*.pyc")
Do While Len(f) > 0
ActiveCell.Formula = f
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Select
f = Dir()
Loop
z = Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row
For e = 2 To z
g = Left(Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(e, 1), Len(Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(e, 1)) - 4)
Worksheets.Add
ActiveSheet.Name = g
With ActiveSheet.QueryTables.Add(Connection:= _
"TEXT;" & Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(1, 2) & Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(e, 1), _
Destination:=Sheets(g).Range("A1"))
.Name = "deep"
.FieldNames = True
.RowNumbers = False
.Refresh BackgroundQuery:=False
End With