Automatically calculate random number as invoice number

Closed
Shelley - Mar 11, 2014 at 07:13 PM
 Blocked Profile - Mar 14, 2014 at 10:58 AM
Hello there!

I am fairly new to macros and am trying to create an excel document that automatically insert a new randomly generated number (as the invoice number) each time the document is opened. I then want the document to automatically save with the assigned invoice number as the file name.

I have used the macro for my random number generator:

Sub Increment_invoice()

Dim num As Integer
Range("B1").Value = Int((99999999 - 10000000 + 1) * Rnd + 10000000)
num = Range("B1").Value
num = num + 1
Range("B1").Value = num

End Sub

This seems to be working, I just can't get past this, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Shelley

Related:

5 responses

Blocked Profile
Mar 12, 2014 at 04:25 PM
Ok, so random number generation is probably the hardest thing to try to accomplish by code. I mean A REAL RANDOM NUMBER!

So let us talk about how to generate one, or let us talk about how one may be generated. Here are some different ways programmers may generate a random number. This is not an all exclusive list, and may be more like a charter, as it will grow as more input is given.

Let us start:
1. Get the second of the minute and multiply it by the minute, then take that and multiply it by the hour.
2. Take the Second of the minute and multiply it by the X/y access of the mouse. this works if button isn't always in the same location on the screen.
3. if it is for order ticket generation, just serialize the juilien date with hour, and minute. So Julien date is the day of the year. The hour and minute will always increase with each minute. example of this would be 2 digit year, 3 digit day, 2 digit hour, 2 digit minute for something like - 140711624. In this example, you would be able to track what year, what day, what minute it was made. It would give you a good idea of who also, based on that sequence!