Excel Filter/Macro

Solved/Closed
LSKM - Jan 14, 2016 at 05:30 PM
vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 - Jan 15, 2016 at 05:19 PM
Hello,
Thank you in advance for any time/help you can offer!

I'm working on a contact list in Excel and I need to be able to filter my contacts in a few different ways. Each contact is in a row and each column includes information (name, media type, etc). I've never done programming before so I'm not sure where to start.

The workbook is made up of a few different parts:
- "MASTER" sheet (includes everyone)
- "TV" sheet (for those contacts marked as "TV" in column B ("MEDIA TYPE") on "MASTER" sheet)
- "RADIO" sheet (for contacts marked as "Radio" in column B ("MEDIA TYPE") on "MASTER" sheet)
- etc.

I need to be able to filter (automatically copy/paste if possible) those people on the "MASTER" sheet to their respective "TV"/"RADIO" sheets. The reason for the automatic is because the document will be updated fairly frequently.

Is there a macro/how-to where I can learn to do this? Thanks again!

- Loren
Related:

3 responses

vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 259
Jan 15, 2016 at 05:06 AM
Hello Loren,

Perhaps a look at the following link to a similar thread back in early December may give you a guide to a possible solution. I believe that your query is similar. The Poster did not bother to reply so we cannot be totally sure if it worked for him.

https://ccm.net/forum/affich-859527-vba-copying-data-to-new-sheets

In the above-mentioned thread, my post #2 has a code which should work for you also although you need to ignore lines 14 - 21 of that code (this part creates new named sheets which you won't need to do).

There is a DropBox link in the same post which shows how the code works.

Have a look and let us know what you think. If it suits, we should be able to sort something out for you.

Cheerio,