Keys type double sometimes, words jump up into previous text

Closed
JayneAuthor Posts 5 Registration date Sunday May 22, 2016 Status Member Last seen May 22, 2016 - May 22, 2016 at 04:13 PM
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 - May 23, 2016 at 05:50 AM
I am having a lot of trouble with the keyboard. Many times the key that is hit once will print not one letter, but two or more. I touch them lightly and do not hold the key down. Also, when typing a paragraph and pause for a second, then resume typing, the text will jump up somewhere in the paragraph and not where I was typing. I am an author and this is running me crazy. I have not had this computer very long and it is refurbished. I needed a lot of power and speed, so this was all I could afford. It has 8GB RAM and 1 TB hard Drive.
Related:

2 responses

Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,170
May 22, 2016 at 04:19 PM
Greetings Jayne,

Are you talking about a laptop keyboard or a desktop keyboard ?

P.S. What did you teach ?
JayneAuthor Posts 5 Registration date Sunday May 22, 2016 Status Member Last seen May 22, 2016
May 22, 2016 at 06:12 PM
It is a relatively new Dell Inspiron with 8MB RAM and 1TB Hard drive. After I posted, I tried to answer your question, and all of the keys started typing a different letter than I pressed. I am on another laptop now, an Acer Aspire(I have four). I bought the new one because I am a writer now and also because I have a huge file on Ancestry.com I am working on. Although I taught fifth grade for a couple of years and seventh grade English for three, I spent the rest of my career teaching Gifted and Talented children, mostly in elementary, but three years in middle school. I enjoyed it very much.
As for the Google thing, I am so mad I may just take it off my computer and switch to something else.