Future date based on text result and previu

Closed
Littlemouse71 Posts 4 Registration date Sunday May 7, 2017 Status Member Last seen May 11, 2017 - May 7, 2017 at 12:55 PM
Littlemouse71 Posts 4 Registration date Sunday May 7, 2017 Status Member Last seen May 11, 2017 - May 11, 2017 at 06:35 AM
Hello,

I'm not very good at this and am struggling to find the correct formula to calculate future dates but with multiple variables and cells as conditions... I need to provide the information tomorrow! Please can someone help?

Column M contains dates certain activities were carried out
Column N contains text related to the results (neg, pos, or an actual number)
Column AP needs to contain a new date either 3 , 6, or 12 months in the future based on the text contained in N

If N is "neg" add 12 months
If N is "pos" or a any number other than "<1.5E+1", add 6 months

If N is "<1.5E+1" add 6 or 12 months - ideally being able to choose between the 2 dates, otherwise leave as 6 months).

I am soooo grateful for any help possible!
Kind regards,
KH

2 responses

see if this works:

=IF(N1="neg",EDATE(M1,12),IF(N1="pos",EDATE(M1,6),IF(N1>=15,EDATE(M1,6),EDATE(M1,6))))

I have assumed that "1.5E+1" is the same as 15. Change it to suit your needs. Also not sure where the 3 months you mention fits in.
Littlemouse71 Posts 4 Registration date Sunday May 7, 2017 Status Member Last seen May 11, 2017
May 7, 2017 at 04:55 PM
Thanks - it doesn't work but I'm trying to tweak. It's certainly closer than I managed to get! It gave me 6 months for the "neg" even with the Edate(m1,12) for some reason. The 3 months is for another scenario which I probably shouldn't have included.

Basically, I need to track when to follow up a particular group of patients:

- Blood tests taken on date 'M1'
- Results in 'N1'
- If négative, no follow up for 1 year