Since 2009, Google has offered an "undo" option via Labs and more recently, via Inbox, but now the feature is available for all Gmail users.
On Monday, Google announced that "Undo Send" is officially a formal Gmail setting for web users. "'Undo Send' allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings," explained Google on its Apps Updates blog. Users already using the Labs version of the tool will have the setting turned on by default at launch. The tool does not give users an infinite amount of time to retract their email from the ether of cyberspace - users can choose to have a cancellation period of up to 30 seconds.
Undo Send is also available via Google's personalized digital mailbox: Inbox by Gmail. Last month, Google announced the new feature as part of an Inbox update that added various user requested features. "With Undo Send--now for the first time on your phone--you can take back an email right after sending in case you spotted a mistake, or have second thoughts," explained Google. In addition to Undo Sent, Google added Signatures, Swipe to Delete, Trip Bundles, and more. As of this week, Undo Send in Inbox is available on Android, iOS, and the web as well as on Gmail on the web. It is unclear if the feature will roll out to the company's mobile Gmail apps.
Photo: © Google.