EFQM - European Foundation for Quality Management

Introduction to EFQM

The EFQM (European Foundation for Quality Management) is a European foundation based in Brussels that was founded in 1988 by 14 European companies (Bosch, BT, Bull, Ciba-Geigy, Dassault, Electrolux, Fiat, KLM, Nestlé, Olivetti, Philips, Renault, Sulzer, Volkswagen) with the support of the European Commission. The EFQM now has more than 700 member organizations.

The goal of this not-for-profit organization is to promote a methodological framework for evaluating quality improvement.

The EFQM model for excellence is based on a concept that consists in evaluating quality according to 9 key criteria:

  • Leadership
  • Management of employees
  • Policy and strategy
  • Partnerships and resources
  • Processes
  • Employee satisfaction
  • Client satisfaction
  • Integration into the community
  • Operational results
This criteria are balanced out and divided into two categories: Factors (corresponding to the first five criteria) and Results (the last four) so that a company is able to quantify the level of quality achieved and position itself in comparison with other companies.

EFQM Benchmark

Article written on 16 December 2004 by Jean-François Pillou

Ask a question
CCM is a leading international tech website. Our content is written in collaboration with IT experts, under the direction of Jean-François Pillou, founder of CCM.net. CCM reaches more than 50 million unique visitors per month and is available in 11 languages.
This document, titled « EFQM - European Foundation for Quality Management », is available under the Creative Commons license. Any copy, reuse, or modification of the content should be sufficiently credited to CCM (ccm.net).

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

The Best of CCM in Your Inbox

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!