Ubuntu - Empty trash without confirmation

Each time you want to empty the trash folder of Ubuntu, a small confirmation window will be displayed:

To disable this feature:

  • Open the Home folder
  • Click on the Edit Menu > Preferences.

  • The file Management Preferences window shall open.
  • Go to the "Behaviour" tab > Trash
  • Uncheck "Ask before emptying the trash or deleting files".

Ask a question
CCM is a leading international tech website. Our content is written in collaboration with IT experts, under the direction of Jean-François Pillou, founder of CCM.net. CCM reaches more than 50 million unique visitors per month and is available in 11 languages.
This document, titled « Ubuntu - Empty trash without confirmation », is available under the Creative Commons license. Any copy, reuse, or modification of the content should be sufficiently credited to CCM (ccm.net).