Leave a comment

Google Translate Surpasses 100 Languages

NicoleMotta - February 18, 2016 - 11:35 AM
Google Translate Surpasses 100 Languages
On Wednesday, Google announced that it has added support for 13 more languages, bringing its total to 103.

When it started back in 2006, Google Translate was limited to translations between English and Arabic, Chinese, and Russian. Now, nearly a decade since its initial launch, the service supports over 103 languages and 99 percent of the online population. The newest additions are Amharic, Corsican, Frisian, Kyrgyz, Hawaiian, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Luxembourgish, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Shona, Sindhi, Pashto, and Xhosa, which Google says will "help bring a combined 120 million new people to the billions who can already communicate with Translate all over the world." The update, which adds these 13 new languages, is rolling out over the coming days.

Google's announcement comes ahead of International Mother Language day this weekend. "We've come a long way with over 100 languages, but we aren't done yet. If you want to help, International Mother Language day — just around the corner on February 21 — is a great time to get involved in the Translate Community," said Google. "To start, just select the languages you speak; then choose to either translate phrases on your own or validate existing translations. Every contribution helps improve the quality of translation over time. You can also share feedback directly on Translate.Google.com, so as you try out the new languages, we’d love to hear your suggestions." Google's translation tool learns from learning from users' translations as well as improvements to its algorithms and systems.

Photo: © iStock.
Add comment