Leave a comment

Messenger Offers 10-Minute Delete Window

Paul Rubens - November 8, 2018 - 08:00 AM
Messenger Offers 10-Minute Delete Window
Messenger users will have to act much more quickly than WhatsApp users if they send a message they later regret.

(CCM) — Facebook is close to launching its unsend feature in Messenger, but there is a catch: users will only be able to delete messages that they regret sending before they are read during a ten minute "unsend window." After that the message cannot be unsent, according to an Engadget report.


By contrast, Facebook's WhatsApp messaging service allows users to unsend messages up to one hour after they have been sent if they have a change of heart.

The unsend feature will be released imminently and has already appeared in a list of "coming soon" features in the release notes for version 191.0 of the Messenger iOS app, according to the report.

It is not yet clear whether the recipient of a message which is later deleted will be informed that a message disappeared from their inbox before they had a chance to read it, as is the case with WhatsApp, or if the message will simply disappear without a trace.

Facebook encountered a great deal of public criticism when it emerged in April that messages sent by Mark Zuckerberg and other top Facebook executives had been deleted from recipients' mailboxes, even though the capability to unsend messages was not available to normal Messenger users.

Image: © YeaMake - Shutterstock.com
Add comment

Comments