Verizon Reveals 20 New 5G Cities

Verizon Reveals 20 New 5G Cities
The company is spreading 5G across the country and has begun taking preorders for Samsung's Galaxy S10 5G.

(CCM) — Verizon has announced 20 new cities which will get its high speed 5G cellular service in 2019, according to a report in The Verge.

This is in addition to Chicago and Minneapolis, where Verizon's 5G is already available.

The 20 new cities are: Atlanta, Boston, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Des Moines, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Little Rock, Memphis, Phoenix, Providence, San Diego, Salt Lake City, and Washington DC.

This is not the extent of Verizon's 5G plans for the year, however, and the company says it will announce more cities which will get the service later in the year.

Accompanying the announcement, Verizon has begun to take pre-orders for the 5G-capable Samsung Galaxy S10. The phone can be purchased from Verizon stores for $1,299 from May 16, and the company is offering up to $450 trade-in for certain phones.

Verizon is also offering a $200 prepaid Mastercard to customers who switch to the carrier's network, buy a Galaxy S10 5G on a device payment plan, and also sign up to the company's Unlimited cellphone plan.

In addition to the Mastercard, customers will also receive a free Samsung wireless charging battery pack and a free pair of Samsung Galaxy ear buds.

Image: © rmnoa357 -