Explorer.exe application error - failed to initalize properly

Closed
alexmom Posts 3 Registration date Monday August 5, 2013 Status Member Last seen August 5, 2013 - Aug 5, 2013 at 11:56 AM
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 - Aug 6, 2013 at 06:40 AM
Hello. I have windows xp and desktop is dropping after boot. I'm able to open task manager to browse registry key but "explorer.exe and iexplorer.exe" are not found! I cannot get to anything on pc! Please help. I don't know what else to do.
Related:

4 replies

Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,234
Aug 5, 2013 at 04:11 PM
Hello

Is it possible for you to boot in safe mode with networking?
0
alexmom Posts 3 Registration date Monday August 5, 2013 Status Member Last seen August 5, 2013
Aug 5, 2013 at 04:38 PM
I tried booting in safe mode with networking and received the following on my screen:
A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer....

I don't know what else to do....
please help!
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,234
Aug 5, 2013 at 05:03 PM
Hi

I suspect that you contracted a vicious virus.

1. When did this occur? (What did you do just before the event)

2. Do you have on your computer such applications as U.Torrent or something similar.

3. Do you have an antivirus? Which one?

Two options are open to you:

1. Restore your computer to factory settings using your XP disks and you will lose all of your data.

2. Gain access to another computer to transfer some desinfection tools to a pendrive.

Since Explorer does not respond, I can only hope that your computer will read the pendrive on boot.

Let me know
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,234
Aug 5, 2013 at 05:26 PM
Hi

It's now 1723 hrs EDT, I must log off for 9 hours.

Let me know what you wish to do and I will catch you in the morning.

Ambucias
Moderator/ Virus Security Contributor

P.S. Very important question

Can you boot in safe mode with command prompt?
0
alexmom Posts 3 Registration date Monday August 5, 2013 Status Member Last seen August 5, 2013
Aug 5, 2013 at 06:23 PM
Hello. I had Macafee but they don't support my older system any longer and unfortunately I do not have the Windows XP disks to reload. I think I'm stuck and may need a new PC. However, I had backed up my files to an external drive but I don't know how to determine if any of the files would be corrupted if I transfer them to a new PC..... I cannot boot in safe mode with command prompt. I get the same message: "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage"
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,234
Aug 6, 2013 at 06:40 AM
Gee I am terribly sorry.

P.S. If you purchase a new PC, ensure to destroy the old disk so that nobody with evil intentions gets a hold of your sensitive data.
0