Explorer.exe application error - failed to initalize properly

Closed
alexmom
Posts
3
Registration date
Monday August 5, 2013
Status
Member
Last seen
August 5, 2013
- Aug 5, 2013 at 11:56 AM
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
- Aug 6, 2013 at 06:40 AM
Hello. I have windows xp and desktop is dropping after boot. I'm able to open task manager to browse registry key but "explorer.exe and iexplorer.exe" are not found! I cannot get to anything on pc! Please help. I don't know what else to do.

4 replies

Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,314
Aug 5, 2013 at 04:11 PM
Hello

Is it possible for you to boot in safe mode with networking?
0
alexmom
Posts
3
Registration date
Monday August 5, 2013
Status
Member
Last seen
August 5, 2013

Aug 5, 2013 at 04:38 PM
I tried booting in safe mode with networking and received the following on my screen:
A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer....

I don't know what else to do....
please help!
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,314
Aug 5, 2013 at 05:03 PM
Hi

I suspect that you contracted a vicious virus.

1. When did this occur? (What did you do just before the event)

2. Do you have on your computer such applications as U.Torrent or something similar.

3. Do you have an antivirus? Which one?

Two options are open to you:

1. Restore your computer to factory settings using your XP disks and you will lose all of your data.

2. Gain access to another computer to transfer some desinfection tools to a pendrive.

Since Explorer does not respond, I can only hope that your computer will read the pendrive on boot.

Let me know
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,314
Aug 5, 2013 at 05:26 PM
Hi

It's now 1723 hrs EDT, I must log off for 9 hours.

Let me know what you wish to do and I will catch you in the morning.

Ambucias
Moderator/ Virus Security Contributor

P.S. Very important question

Can you boot in safe mode with command prompt?
0
alexmom
Posts
3
Registration date
Monday August 5, 2013
Status
Member
Last seen
August 5, 2013

Aug 5, 2013 at 06:23 PM
Hello. I had Macafee but they don't support my older system any longer and unfortunately I do not have the Windows XP disks to reload. I think I'm stuck and may need a new PC. However, I had backed up my files to an external drive but I don't know how to determine if any of the files would be corrupted if I transfer them to a new PC..... I cannot boot in safe mode with command prompt. I get the same message: "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage"
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,314
Aug 6, 2013 at 06:40 AM
Gee I am terribly sorry.

P.S. If you purchase a new PC, ensure to destroy the old disk so that nobody with evil intentions gets a hold of your sensitive data.
0