Find text in multiple cells and return different text

Closed
MLloyd81 Posts 4 Registration date Saturday September 17, 2022 Status Member Last seen September 18, 2022 - Updated on Sep 17, 2022 at 11:42 AM
MLloyd81 Posts 4 Registration date Saturday September 17, 2022 Status Member Last seen September 18, 2022 - Sep 18, 2022 at 11:50 AM

Hello,

I am a teacher trying to find an alternative to manually entering data for single children and a way of simply analysing it. 
I have created a book which contains multiple sheets for skills, within each sheet is a list of statements related to the skill showing the level of child - A1:A10.  Then each child has its own column D1:D10, then E and F etc.  I have created a drop down in each of these to say if the child is beginning, developing or secure in that level. What I want is to have an analysis sheet which shows me which level the child is secure in. Currently I have a formula which says if D1 says secure then the cell for that child says level 1 and if not it is blank, but I would like to repeat if so it checks all D1:D10 for secure and puts the corresponding level in from A column. That way I could see if child A is secure in level 1 (D1) child B is secure in Level 4 (E4) etc. I’ve tried IF(IFnumber) and IFfound but keep getting errors. Any help would be appreciated thanks. 

iPhone / Safari 15.5

4 responses

Mazzaropi Posts 1985 Registration date Monday August 16, 2010 Status Contributor Last seen May 24, 2023 147
Sep 18, 2022 at 09:57 AM

MLloyd81, Good morning.

Dear teacher, maybe I'm missing something in your explanation.

Wouldn't the MATCH function be useful to you in this case?

A little image of the spreadsheet would already help me understand your layout and what you want as a result.

Hope it helps.

MLloyd81 Posts 4 Registration date Saturday September 17, 2022 Status Member Last seen September 18, 2022
Sep 18, 2022 at 10:27 AM