Create an ordering list for our consumables

Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
Hello all,

New user here!
I am new to coding in Excel (pretty much Excel itself) and do not have access to Access. I would like to create an ordering list for our consumables at work that:
- once you click on the item# column, a command window pops up and asks if you are ordering today. If you click yes another pop up will ask you amount being ordered and P.O. or credit card use (if P.O. selected, P.O.# should be asked). Another sheet, within the same workbook, will record the date, item name, P.O.# or credit card use and amount ordered, with a running $ total.

Is this possible? Thank you

System Configuration: Macintosh / Chrome 74.0.3729.157
See more 

4 replies

Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568
0
Thank you
When you say credit card use, do you mean the name of the card or the number?
ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568 -
Have you unlocked the developer tab? How familar are you with form construction?

Lets start by inserting a form, name it frmENTRY. place two text boxs on the form, named txtAMOUNT, and another named txtDESC. Place a button on the form, named btnSUBMIT.

START with that
anewskillofhelp
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
I've attached what I have so far. I hope this is what you explained.
anewskillofhelp
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
Sorry, I couldn't attach the booklet but here's a snapshot
ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568 -
Do you have the developer tab enabled. On the ribbon, do you see DEVELOPER? We need to gain access to the VBA explorer console.



We are going to build a form. We will not be using a worksheet for order entry, but will be building a "pop up" window to enter it in, just as you requested. If you need help getting the developer tab unlocked, post back.
anewskillofhelp
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
I need help getting the developer tab. I might need to purchase Office 365 as I have Office for MAC and it seems limited.
Respond to ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568
0
Thank you
Its ok, lets see if your version has it. Go to preferences, select Ribbon amd Toolbar.
Under Customize the ribbon, select main tabs, and select Developer. Click save.

That should be it. Close excel amd reopen it. Developer should be there.
Respond to ac3mark
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
0
Thank you
This is what my developer tab looks like:
Respond to anewskillofhelp
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568
0
Thank you
Great job!

Now in the left hand side, click on visual basic. The next window is the projexlct explorer. In the left hand colum, right click over MICROSOFT EXCEL OBJECTS, and select insert, MODULE.

post back.
anewskillofhelp
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
I think I'm lost...I'm not seeing insert new form
ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568 -
Ok maybe its workbook. Any way in the project explorer, open new form.
anewskillofhelp
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
Hello ac3mark, sorry I've been away for awhile. Hope that you are still active. I still cannot find the new form. Maybe I am not right clicking in the correct spot?
anewskillofhelp
Posts
10
Registration date
Tuesday May 28, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
August 11, 2019
-
@ac3mark I got my hands on a PC that enables userforms. Hope you are still in the business of helping. I have my userform already created
ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1568 -
I am here amd prepared to help you move the data that ks entered into the userform, into the sheet when you are....
Respond to ac3mark