Writing a macro

Solved/Closed
Anna - May 14, 2010 at 07:51 AM
rizvisa1 Posts 4478 Registration date Thursday January 28, 2010 Status Contributor Last seen May 5, 2022 - May 26, 2010 at 12:24 PM
Hello,

I am trying to get data whcih has been inoutted into one workksheet to copy into another worksheets when it meets a command in one of the columns. I beleieve i need to write a macro for this although i have no macro experience whatsoever.
Can you please help? :)

4 responses

rizvisa1 Posts 4478 Registration date Thursday January 28, 2010 Status Contributor Last seen May 5, 2022 766
May 14, 2010 at 08:14 AM
You question does not have too much detail to give you a good answer. How ever, you can get a good idea of macro if you use the macro recorder of excel. Start the macro, then do what you want to do and stop the macro.This would give you a starting template.
Apologies for the lack of information. Basically sheet 1 contains a full list of data, the command will be a Y in one of the columns so when this is inserted i want the whole row to be copied and transferred into another worksheet, worksheet 2. The purpose of this is so the gneral details can be copied across andthen i will expand on this in the different sheet for those that apply. I have no idea how to write a macro therefore its difficult to make a start.
rizvisa1 Posts 4478 Registration date Thursday January 28, 2010 Status Contributor Last seen May 5, 2022 766
May 14, 2010 at 05:33 PM
Are you saying that if a row contains a Y in any column of that row, you want this whole row to be copied to a sheet ?

IF that is the case, what about this other sheet. Will it always exist, should the existing data on the sheet be wiped out or this new data be appended