Partial match multi-sheet comparison

Solved/Closed
LostIntern - Jun 27, 2011 at 02:02 AM
RWomanizer Posts 365 Registration date Monday February 7, 2011 Status Contributor Last seen September 30, 2013 - Jun 29, 2011 at 01:58 AM
Hello,

I am trying to compare a manufacture's part number in a spread sheet with a spreadsheet that we have to match these part numbers to their UPC's. The only issue is that the existing spreadsheet has additions to the part numbers to help workers differentiate products. How can i make a macro that takes the part numbers in the manufacture's list and searches through the company list for a partial match? Thanks a bunch I just started learning about VBA and I am very lost...

Related:

5 responses

RWomanizer Posts 365 Registration date Monday February 7, 2011 Status Contributor Last seen September 30, 2013 120
Jun 27, 2011 at 02:27 AM
Would you please upload a sample EXCEL file WITH sample data on some shared site like https://authentification.site
AND post back here the link to allow better understanding of how it is now and how you foresee. Based on the sample book, could you re-explain your problem too.

Note: your data need not be to be real data but a good representative of how data looks like
here is the link:

http://www.speedyshare.com/files/29169087/SKU_to_UPC.xls

and the password:

gefokanumeko

The first column is the list of all the SKU numbers that the company uses. They should essentially be the same as those assigned by the manufacturers, but it may have additional characters at the end. To the right, in column pairs such as D&E, F&G, and so on I have the manufacturer SKU numbers, and the corresponding UPC number for each product as well. I need to try and match as many of the SKU's my company uses with the manufacture's UPC's

thanks again for the quick reply.
RWomanizer Posts 365 Registration date Monday February 7, 2011 Status Contributor Last seen September 30, 2013 120
Jun 27, 2011 at 04:10 AM
Hi,