How to install tar.gz file on ubuntu [Solved/Closed]

chandeno 6 Posts Monday June 1, 2009Registration date June 12, 2009 Last seen - Jun 11, 2009 at 09:19 PM - Latest reply:  papilonaa
- Dec 23, 2012 at 06:53 AM
Hello,
can any one help me.. I had download file that have extension tar.gz. I extra it already but I don't know how to install it. can tell step by step?coz i'm new in ubuntu
thank
See more 

9 replies

Best answer
Thank you
unzip the the file using

$tar -zxvf program.tar.gz
$tar -zjvf program.tar.bz2

change directory into unzipped folder

ie..

cd /download/program/

./configure

make

and the get into root

ie..

sudo su (for suse su is enough)

and enter your password..

make install

your are done.... cheers...

Thank you, shameed 70

Something to say? Add comment

CCM has helped 1706 users this month

i have the same problem I dont know where to unzip and what to do after those explanation upwards are so un clear I dont understand none sorry!
Thank you
tar -xzvf filename.tar.gz
Tom6 142 Posts Friday July 31, 2009Registration date August 7, 2009 Last seen - Aug 1, 2009 at 10:20 AM
Thank you
I am guessing that you are new to linux and might appreciate a few other links

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Signpost/Questions#help
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwitchingToUbuntu/FromMacOSX
http://www.linuxquestions.org

Good luck and regards from
Tom :)
Thank you
i am also new to linux but this might help you.

you need to extract the file, then you enter the folder that is extracted through terminal. Then you should see avaulability of folder src and file configure. if that is not the case I cant help you. but if those files are present then on the terminal you've opened type "./configure", after some lines coming and going, you should again type "make", and then at last "make install" then the program gets installed. if this not work as planned or some message shows to get dependencies you should get them first.

hope that might help you!