Excel Macros Cut and Paste Keyword

Closed
whitebears - Aug 19, 2010 at 01:00 PM
rizvisa1 Posts 4478 Registration date Thursday January 28, 2010 Status Contributor Last seen May 5, 2022 - Aug 24, 2010 at 10:23 AM
Hello,

I am new to excel macros, but would like to use it. I have a list of 100,000 addresses. I need to find addresses with the name "BOX", then select that cell and the next three cells on its right, and cut and paste them 4 cells to the left. It seems really simple but I keep getting errors. Is it possible to execute this command?
Related:

3 responses

Hi Whitebears,

Let me start by telling you that I am not a VB expert.

Here is my attempt to solve you query:

Sub test()
Set MyPlage = Range("E1:E10000")
    For Each Cell In MyPlage
    If Cell.Value = "BOX" Then
            Range(Cell.Offset(0, 0), Cell.Offset(0, 3)).Copy
            Cell.Offset(0, -4).PasteSpecial
            Range(Cell.Offset(0, 0), Cell.Offset(0, 3)).ClearContents
        End If
    Next
End Sub

Take a look a this line: Set MyPlage = Range("E1:E10000")
Please adjust the letter E to the letter corresponding to the column you want to find the word "BOX" in.
Then adjust the range you want to look in, maybe it's E5:E15000.
Now give it a try.

How to implement the code:
When in excel press Alt+F11.
VB will open.
Now goto the top menu's Insert > Module.
Now copy/paste the code in the white window.
Now go back to excel and press Alt+F8 and execute the macro test.

Best regrads,
Trowa
rizvisa1 Posts 4478 Registration date Thursday January 28, 2010 Status Contributor Last seen May 5, 2022 766
Aug 20, 2010 at 09:10 AM
What kind of error ? Could it be that you have merged cells
Hi Trowa,

I tried it and it did not do anything. It's probably missing one little thing. Thanks for your work so far.

I also tried this and it didn't work either.

Sub test()
Set MyPlage = Range("J15000:J97986")
For Each Cell In MyPlage
Range(Cell.Offset(0, 0), Cell.Offset(0, 3)).Cut
Cell.Offset(0, -4).Paste
End If