Web Hosting

Solved/Closed
karthikjgd Posts 4 Registration date Sunday February 15, 2009 Status Member Last seen May 7, 2009 - Feb 16, 2009 at 03:06 AM
 Mike - Feb 18, 2009 at 10:02 AM
Hello,

I registered a domain name from www.melbourneit.com.au . I am new to webdesigning. What is the next step to upload my file? I tried with FileZilla to connect with there 2 server names. But after establishing the connection it failed and showed message like this...

Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Error: Connection timed out
Error: Could not connect to server

Do I need to register this domain name in some kind of Web Hosting website?

I have a well equiped server PC with me. If I have server do I need to register my domain name in a web Hosting website? I am really confused...Help Me....

Karthik

4 responses

Check your ftp server - all info should have been given to you by your hosting company. When you registered you should have been given three sets of info:

1. Site info (dns, domain, etc.)

2. Ftp info (ftp site, user, password)

3. Domain administration info (cPanel login, or equivalent)

Also, make sure you have the correct permissions for your ftp program through your firewall.
Well,

I think that only registered my domain name. But not registered it in the host server. I paid USD 210 for 10 years. I think that if I can have a good kind of server I can upload my webpages into the server. But I don't know how to do that. May I get the steps to do that.

Regards
Karthik
rossdavid Posts 185 Registration date Tuesday November 18, 2008 Status Member Last seen August 6, 2010 29
Feb 16, 2009 at 11:03 AM
Or try to register on the domain of www.servage.net
May I ask which web hosting company you have chosen?

This way, I can guide you on their specific rules/options.

Again, a reputable hosting company will provide all access information once you have created an account.