Unable to connect to browsers

[Closed]
Report
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017
-
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
-
Okay so I'm connected to the Internet, ive even opened an online game and i am able to play as if im conected, but when i open google chrome it wont open any webpage, nor will Microsoft edge, I've talked to my ISP my routers are fine, there is nothing wrong with its settings, I'm able to use WiFi on my mobile device(which im using to post right now), I've ran network troubleshooting, I've tried the network commands for ip dns etc, nothing seems to work, i am unable to update avast due to it unable to connect and download off a website, i have no idea what to do now, please help..

6 replies

Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149
1. Click Start
2. Click Run
3. Type cmd
4. Click Ok
5. In the Black Command Box Type: netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
6. Hit Enter Key
7. Restart the computer and try to log in and browse the Internet. If the problem persists, continue using these steps.
8. Click Start
9. Click Run
10. Type cmd
11. Click Ok
12. In Black Command Box Type: netsh winsock reset
13. Hit Enter Key
14. Restart Computer
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

I've done it numerous times, problem still persists
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149
Try to reset your browser to default settings.
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

Done it aswell, also proxy isn't turned on, nor are my firewalls the problem because i have disabled them and tried to use browsers, ive also tried updating my network adapter(downloaded it via my phone and transfered) , im running a full virus scan atm.
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149
Try booting in safe mode with networking.
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

In safe mode with networking browsers work, what should i do now?
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149
Try downloading and installing Firefox, see if it works in normal mode.

Also, if you wish, I can perform a diagnostic for virus on your system.
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

Alright, i'm downloading Firefox.
That would be great, let me know what i need to do for you to be able to run a diagnostic.
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

In normal mode firefox does not work.
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149
I may not be able to analyze the report this morning, but later this afternoon. (I am in Canada)

1. Open this link and download ZHPDiag :
https://nicolascoolman.eu
(Don't be alarmed is the site is in French, it sometimes happens, the tool will take your system language and allow the download if you get a warning message, ignore it.) Click on the download button

2. Save the file on your Desktop.

3. Double click on ZHPDiag.exe and follow the installation instructions.

(For Vista, Win 7 and 8 users, click right to ensure you execute with admin right)

4. Double click on the short cut ZHPDiag on your Destktop.

5 Click on scan
Wait for the tool to finished (maybe a long time)

6. Close ZHPDiag.

7. To transmit the report, click on this link :

http://www.tinyupload.com/index.php

8. Search the directory where you installed ZHPDiag (usually C:\desktop\zhpdiag.txt).

9. Copy the url link obtained from tinyupload and paste it here in your reply.

Ambucias
CCM Moderator and Virus/Security Contributor
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017
>
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021

Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149 >
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

Did Firefox work in normal mode ?

I will get back to you as soon as possible with my analysis.

P.S. Your computer will soon run out of disk space.
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017
>
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021

No, Firefox did not work in normal mode.

Yeah i'm aware of that, apparently my brother had some issues with formatting the C drive when installing windows, so i'll deal with it soon.

Alright, thank you so much!
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149 >
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

There is a lot of superfluous stuff that can be deleted. I will tell you later.

видимо се касније
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017
>
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021

Alright, thank you so much!

I'll be waiting for your reply. :)
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149
Hello

I am back.

What kind of Internet connection do you have ?

When you go to your internet settings, ensure the "Use a proxy for this connection" is NOT checked.

I have analyzed your report but have found no virus.

The greatest danger you are running is the space left on your hard disk which 2%, should you use all of the space, and it does not take much, your computer will freeze solid forever.

Good luck
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017
>
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021

Alright, im doing it, ill post the report in a couple of minutes
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=16671276904917582881

Here's the report from the normal boot scan
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

Today the browsers sort of started working but really slowly, and i got fed up with it, and I did a clean windows install, and expanded the c partition due to the low memory, and it's all working now, so thank you for all your help!
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149 >
Posts
15
Registration date
Thursday May 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 19, 2017

Thanks for your feedback. The expansion of C was an excellent decision although that by reinstalling windows you created a lot of space as you deleted all of your data.

Farewell.
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,149 >
Posts
47367
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021

I just a glance at your report.

There was superfluous stuff such as Conduit and Popcorntime.

I think that the main problem which was not seen in safe mode was this one:

HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyEnable = 0
R5 - HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,MigrateProxy = 1
R5 - HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,EnableHttp1_1 = 1
R5 - HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyHttp1.1 = 1
R5 - HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NlaSvc\Parameters\Internet\ManualProxies []