Noob to VPN

Solved/Closed
69Rixter Posts 48 Registration date Wednesday March 25, 2015 Status Member Last seen November 25, 2022 - Oct 21, 2022 at 05:13 PM
HelpiOS Posts 14315 Registration date Friday October 30, 2015 Status Moderator Last seen April 26, 2024 - Oct 24, 2022 at 06:19 PM

Hello,

I'm a complete noob to VPN. Watched a few tutorials, but honestly, I'd rather have input from those who have and use a VPN on a regular basis. Feel I need to employ a VPN for, at this time, I'm relegated to using public comps. And, besides, when I do get my new laptop, it'd probably be a good idea to install one on it. So, been considering PROTONVPN(?) Would like to hear from you concerning your thoughts on a particular software(VPN) and why you choose/use it. Also, any tips, ideas, cautions and pitfalls I should avoid. All responses are appreciated.

Rick

Windows / Chrome 106.0.0.0

Related:

2 responses

HelpiOS Posts 14315 Registration date Friday October 30, 2015 Status Moderator Last seen April 26, 2024 1,891
Oct 24, 2022 at 05:40 PM

Hi,

When choosing a VPN, it is extremely important to know the country where the VPN provider is based. If it is based in a privacy-friendly country that allows VPNs to not store any log data, then it can be trusted. Otherwise, even if it claims to not store any logs, your VPN may not be as private as you think. In addition, you should always read the privacy policy of any VPN before trusting it at 100%.

If you choose to go with a premium VPN, it is recommended to compare it with other providers so that you can find one that meets the most with your requirements. It will not be advantageous to pay for features that you don't really need. Be careful also, as sometimes reviews are sponsored on the internet.