Saving multiple Excel files based on a list

Solved/Closed
KenthH Posts 3 Registration date Thursday September 13, 2018 Status Member Last seen September 20, 2018 - Updated on Nov 4, 2018 at 03:55 AM
KenthH Posts 3 Registration date Thursday September 13, 2018 Status Member Last seen September 20, 2018 - Sep 20, 2018 at 04:03 PM
Hi,

I'm totally new to writing macros in excel but I thought I'd give it a go. I've seen similar threads but I can't find the answer to my problem. I want to save the content of a tab, "Master" to a new file based on a list of names in another tab, "Names". I want the filename and the name of the tab in the new file to be named according to the list.

I have based the code on two examples from @TrowaD but I cannot get it to loop correctly. It succeeds the first time but then it gets stuck on
Sheets("Master").Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Copy
according to the debugger. Error message : Run-time error 9, Subscript out of range. It also opens the newly created file which I would like to avoid if possible.

Any help on this would be very welcome!

Sub SplitData()

Dim wbName As String
Dim lRow, x As Integer

lRow = Sheets("Names").Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
x = 0

Do
x = x + 1
wbName = Sheets("Names").Range("A" & x)
Workbooks.Add
Worksheets.Add
ActiveSheet.Name = wbName
Range("A1").PasteSpecial
ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs Filename:="/Users/kenth/Documents/exceltest/" & wbName & ".xls"
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Loop Until x = lRow

End Sub

Best regards,
KenthH

2 responses

TrowaD Posts 2921 Registration date Sunday September 12, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen December 27, 2022 552
Sep 13, 2018 at 11:52 AM
Hi KenthH,
-
  • The error you get happens because the newly added workbook isn't closed and doesn't contain a sheet named "Master". This is solved with the point below.
  • To prevent having to close all the newly created workbooks, I added a line to close them for you.