Browser for Acer aspire one d257

Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 20, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2019
- - Latest reply: ac3mark
Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
- Feb 22, 2019 at 07:45 AM
Hey I did a factory reset on my Acer aspire one d257 and it's working crappy and it wasn't like this before. When I try to get on internet explorer it takes forever to get to Microsoft Bing. And then I try to look up anything it says not responding. I don't know what to do. I'm not familiar with a laptop. I always used my tablet and phone. Please help me. I'm trying to install office student 365 for online classes I need help badly. When office is downloading it takes forever and then it hangs at 90%
See more 

6 replies

Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
1154
0
Thank you
Start with this, open a cmd prompt with admin privilages. Run sfc /scannow
Respond to ac3mark
Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 20, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2019
0
Thank you
Thank you for answering but I don't understand.. I searched cdm in the control panel but didn't find anything.
ac3mark
Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
1154 -
Well, its cmd, as in CoMmanD!
Respond to Emil_2447
Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 20, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2019
0
Thank you
Hmmm. Okay thank you for the information. I am looking for command in my control panel
If you want to keep helping me please be patient as I have no idea what I'm doing with this laptop. I'm just being honest about my ignorance of it and yes it's embarrassing but I'm willing to learn if anyone wants to try to help. Thanks again for your messages.
ac3mark
Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
1154 -
Do not worry. Press Windows key, start typing COMMAND. RIght click over COMMAND PROMPT, and run as admin!
Respond to Emil_2447
Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 20, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2019
0
Thank you
Okay ! I am there on administrator
ac3mark
Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
1154 -
OK type SFC /scannow and wait. Post back with results.
Respond to Emil_2447
Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 20, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2019
0
Thank you
Okay it's done. It says: 100%complete
Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violation
C:\windows\system32>
ac3mark
Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
1154 -
Restart the machine. See if BING loads quicker. You do understand that BING has alot of calls to alot of different stuff. Try google as the bas3line for loading a webpage!
Respond to Emil_2447
Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 20, 2019
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2019
0
Thank you
Thank you! I appreciate your help with this laptop. Unfortunately on internet explorer it still is saying cannot display webpage when I tried to pull up outlook email.i also tried resetting under advance tab in the tools. Anyway.. I did try Bing and it pulled it up. I hope I can use it to install office student 365. I used a tool to get rid of 2010 office before I installed the student one but for some reason it didn't get rid of all of the office 2010.. Also it didn't install the office 365 student either. It took so long and then it popped up it couldn't install it ??? Someone said is my internet fast enough ? Idk it's at&t internet. We can watch Netflix on our media player so surely it can install office student . . . right??
ac3mark
Posts
12582
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2019
1154 -
Office is a big suite, and will take a while but I dont see why you couldnt.

There is one more thing we can do. Go to speedguide.net, and on the left hand menu there is a speed test. Run it and notebthe download speed. Then again on left hand side there is a tcp optimizer. Download that and run it with admin (right click over it after moving it from downloads folder, and select run as admin.)

When it runs, down at vottom choose settings, choose custom. Now go back up top and slide the slider to the speed that you noted in the test. Apply those settings and restart. Post back with results. I will explain what happened if you see a significant improvement.
Respond to Emil_2447