Is the FSB part of the MoBo's Chipset?

Closed
Armored_Core Posts 3 Registration date Monday January 5, 2009 Status Member Last seen January 6, 2009 - Jan 5, 2009 at 10:27 PM
xpcman Posts 19530 Registration date Wednesday October 8, 2008 Status Contributor Last seen June 15, 2019 - Jan 7, 2009 at 12:06 AM
Hello,

I've been reading these articles at your site and have found them really helpful!
https://ccm.net/contents/401-pc-personal-computer

I'm stuck on a couple of things on how exactly some compents work!

Is the Front Side Bus part of the Mother boards chipset? From what I gather the chipset is the pathway for the FSB and the other buses to comunicate with everything but is the FSB actually part of the chipsets assemble?

Also, does the microprocessor, FSB, and DIMMs all have to be at the same speeds and bandwiths size? (32bits or 64bits)

Any help would be great! I'm currently studying for my A+ cert.

Thanks!
Related:

5 responses

xpcman Posts 19530 Registration date Wednesday October 8, 2008 Status Contributor Last seen June 15, 2019 1,826
Jan 5, 2009 at 11:09 PM
Yes the FSB in controlled by and contained in the chipset. The FSB frequency and the CPU multiplier together control the CPU speed. The chipset generates the timing signals the allow all the parts of the computer to work together. The BIOS in turn contains the basic control programs to make the chipset function.

The memory controller is in the chipset and depending on the chipset may or may not be linked to the FSB frequency.
But AMD chipsets do not use the same FSB concept and have the memory controller on the CPU as do the latest Intel CPUs.

You might want to read-up on the concept of "north-bridge" and "south-bridge" the two main chips that do all or most of the work in a "chipset".

I hope this helps some.
Armored_Core Posts 3 Registration date Monday January 5, 2009 Status Member Last seen January 6, 2009
Jan 6, 2009 at 07:08 PM
Ok, I thinking I'm starting to get it.