Copy entire data immediately when entered

Solved/Closed
Chaaru - Mar 20, 2012 at 02:39 AM
 Chaaru - Apr 17, 2012 at 12:08 AM
Hello,

I have a spreadsheet in which I maintain sale records of a no. of polymers. For every polymer (For eg. Adflex Q 100 F), I have a table showing Sr. No., Sale Date, Month, Customer Name, Customer Contact & Sell Qty.
I have 50-60 polymer grades, so it gives 50-60 tables for each. I enter the sell detail on day-to-day basis in respective grade table.
Now, what I want is to create a database. As soon the the data is entered in any of the tables (in sheet named as APO), it should get copied (along with the grade name) to the next sheet (which I call Database) in the same workbook.

I am a very beginner in Excel. Please help me out with this.

6 responses

TrowaD Posts 2921 Registration date Sunday September 12, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen December 27, 2022 552
Mar 20, 2012 at 10:49 AM
Hi Chaaru,

Is it possible to upload (www.speedyshare.com) your workbook, without any personal info, so I know how your sheets are made up?

Best regards,
Trowa
TrowaD Posts 2921 Registration date Sunday September 12, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen December 27, 2022 552
Mar 26, 2012 at 10:13 AM
Hi Chaaru,

Here is your file: http://speedy.sh/QFRBx/Chaaru-Polymer-Workbook-rough.xls

Notice that on sheets APO cell A1 the contents are split over two cells to separate the polymer's name. You should do this for all polymer names for the code to work in the right way.

Now select a cell (doesn't matter which one) of the row you just entered a new entry and run the code.

Note that you can add a short-cut key to the macro. I did this for you and gave it the short-cut Ctrl+t. So select a cell of the right row and hit Ctrl+t to copy the data to the database sheet.

Let me know if more assistance is needed.

Best regards,
Trowa
Mar 27, 2012 at 10:17 AM
Hi Chaaru,