Excel VBA Copy and paste loop with logic condition [Solved/Closed]

Yogibearv 2 Posts Monday October 20, 2014Registration date October 21, 2014 Last seen - Oct 20, 2014 at 07:34 PM - Latest reply:  Yogibearv
- Oct 28, 2014 at 04:27 PM
Hi, I am new to VBA and would appreciate some help with a problem I am trying to solve.
I would like a macro that is able to copy information from a cell (in this case I7) into another on the same worksheet (B7). I then would like the macro to check what is written in Cell D5, If the value is "NO", then copy I8 to B8 and so on (offset by one row) .... When D5 changes to "OK" I would like the macro to stop.

Many thanks in advance !
See more 

6 replies

Best answer
TrowaD 2391 Posts Sunday September 12, 2010Registration dateModeratorStatus July 12, 2018 Last seen - Oct 28, 2014 at 12:19 PM
Thank you
Hi Yogibearv,

So you use a formula for D5, that makes more sense. Try this code:
Sub RunMe()
Dim lRow, x As Integer

lRow = Range("I" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
x = 6

Do
    x = x + 1
    Range("B" & x).Value = Range("I" & x).Value
    Range("I" & x).ClearContents
Loop Until IsEmpty(Range("I" & x + 1)) Or x = lRow Or Range("D5").Value = "OK"

End Sub

Best regards,
Trowa

Thank you, TrowaD 10

Something to say? Add comment

CCM has helped 1738 users this month

TrowaD 2391 Posts Sunday September 12, 2010Registration dateModeratorStatus July 12, 2018 Last seen - Oct 21, 2014 at 10:43 AM
Thank you
Hi Yogibearv,

Macro's are typically used when formula's can't do the job.

You want to put the info from I7 in B7: type = in B7, select I7 and hit enter.

If cell D5 = "NO" then copy I8 to B8, use this formula in B8: =IF(D$5="NO",I8,"").

The thing that is confusing me is your last sentence "When D5 changes to "OK" I would like the macro to stop." When a macro is running, you can't change values and if you could, the macro would run so fast you won't be able to input a value at the right time.