Complicated auto populate possible or not and if so how.
Solved/Closed
jmp2009
Posts
4
Registration date
Saturday February 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2017
-
Feb 18, 2017 at 09:58 AM
vcoolio Posts 1411 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 6, 2024 - Feb 22, 2017 at 03:56 PM
vcoolio Posts 1411 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 6, 2024 - Feb 22, 2017 at 03:56 PM
Related:
- Complicated auto populate possible or not and if so how.
- Grand theft auto v free download no verification for pc - Download - Action and adventure
- How to stop facebook auto refresh - Guide
- Grand theft auto iv download apk for pc - Download - Action and adventure
- Auto redial samsung - Guide
- Nvidia drivers auto detect - Guide
5 responses
vcoolio
Posts
1411
Registration date
Thursday July 24, 2014
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 6, 2024
262
Feb 19, 2017 at 02:16 AM
Feb 19, 2017 at 02:16 AM
Hello Jmp2009,
A Worksheet_Change event code should do the task for you. The code is as follows:-
When a day is selected from the dropdowns in any cell in Column I and then you click away (or press Enter or down arrow), the code will transfer the relevant row of data to its individual sheet.
To implement the code, right click on the main (input) sheet. From the menu that appears, select "view code" and in the big white field that then appears, paste the above code.
I've prepared a little example for you to play with at the following link:-
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s6kx6d4qssjlir9/Jmp2009%28Master%20sht%20to%20multi%20shts%2C%20worksheet_change%20event%29.xlsm?dl=0
Let us know how it works for you.
I hope that this helps.
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
A Worksheet_Change event code should do the task for you. The code is as follows:-
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range) Application.ScreenUpdating = False On Error Resume Next If Intersect(Target, Columns(9)) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub Target.EntireRow.Copy Sheets(Target.Value).Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(3)(2) Application.CutCopyMode = False Application.ScreenUpdating = True End Sub
When a day is selected from the dropdowns in any cell in Column I and then you click away (or press Enter or down arrow), the code will transfer the relevant row of data to its individual sheet.
To implement the code, right click on the main (input) sheet. From the menu that appears, select "view code" and in the big white field that then appears, paste the above code.
I've prepared a little example for you to play with at the following link:-
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s6kx6d4qssjlir9/Jmp2009%28Master%20sht%20to%20multi%20shts%2C%20worksheet_change%20event%29.xlsm?dl=0
Let us know how it works for you.
I hope that this helps.
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
vcoolio
Posts
1411
Registration date
Thursday July 24, 2014
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 6, 2024
262
Updated by vcoolio on 19/02/17 at 11:33 PM
Updated by vcoolio on 19/02/17 at 11:33 PM
Hello Jmp2009,
Yes. Can do. I assume that you mean you would like the data that has been transferred to its individual sheet deleted from the main sheet. Hence, the following minor adjustment to the code should do:-
You'll see that I've added the delete line of code and an events handler just to prevent the code from going into an endless loop.
I also forgot to mention in my earlier post that you need to make sure that Column I is always selected last, after all data has been entered for any particular row.
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
P.S.: Here is the link to the updated sample:-
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s6kx6d4qssjlir9/Jmp2009%28Master%20sht%20to%20multi%20shts%2C%20worksheet_change%20event%29.xlsm?dl=0
Yes. Can do. I assume that you mean you would like the data that has been transferred to its individual sheet deleted from the main sheet. Hence, the following minor adjustment to the code should do:-
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range) Application.ScreenUpdating = False Application.EnableEvents = False If Intersect(Target, Columns(9)) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub Target.EntireRow.Copy Sheets(Target.Value).Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(3)(2) Target.EntireRow.Delete Application.EnableEvents = True Application.CutCopyMode = False Application.ScreenUpdating = True End Sub
You'll see that I've added the delete line of code and an events handler just to prevent the code from going into an endless loop.
I also forgot to mention in my earlier post that you need to make sure that Column I is always selected last, after all data has been entered for any particular row.
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
P.S.: Here is the link to the updated sample:-
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s6kx6d4qssjlir9/Jmp2009%28Master%20sht%20to%20multi%20shts%2C%20worksheet_change%20event%29.xlsm?dl=0
jmp2009
Posts
4
Registration date
Saturday February 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2017
Feb 21, 2017 at 09:58 AM
Feb 21, 2017 at 09:58 AM
This is great, I was using the first code on sheet 1 and the other code on all other sheets, was working great, then all of a sudden I am getting error 13 mismatch and I don't know why.
jmp2009
Posts
4
Registration date
Saturday February 18, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
February 21, 2017
Feb 21, 2017 at 10:07 AM
Feb 21, 2017 at 10:07 AM
I really appreciate all your help. Thanks again
vcoolio
Posts
1411
Registration date
Thursday July 24, 2014
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 6, 2024
262
Feb 21, 2017 at 10:27 PM
Feb 21, 2017 at 10:27 PM
Hello Jmp2009,
All sorted then including the little issue that arose?
Glad that I was able to help.
I am curious though. As the code is designed to transfer data from the main sheet to individual sheets depending on a criteria, why did you place the code in all the other sheet modules as well?
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
All sorted then including the little issue that arose?
Glad that I was able to help.
I am curious though. As the code is designed to transfer data from the main sheet to individual sheets depending on a criteria, why did you place the code in all the other sheet modules as well?
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
Still have the little issue. It seems I can't use both codes on the same work sheet only one or the other.
To answer your question I wished to keep the first sheet as a master list. When I get a new customer I add it there. I wanted to be able to copy to the other sheets for service days and to be able to shuffle them around on those sheets as required. For example when their contract runs out I can move them to the expired sheet while the master is uneffected.
I just haven't been using the first code on the master anymore and it seems to work. I just have to copy and paste from Master to another sheet then I can transfer using the code you provided. No big deal.
To answer your question I wished to keep the first sheet as a master list. When I get a new customer I add it there. I wanted to be able to copy to the other sheets for service days and to be able to shuffle them around on those sheets as required. For example when their contract runs out I can move them to the expired sheet while the master is uneffected.
I just haven't been using the first code on the master anymore and it seems to work. I just have to copy and paste from Master to another sheet then I can transfer using the code you provided. No big deal.
Didn't find the answer you are looking for?
Ask a question
vcoolio
Posts
1411
Registration date
Thursday July 24, 2014
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 6, 2024
262
Feb 22, 2017 at 03:56 PM
Feb 22, 2017 at 03:56 PM
Hello Jmp2009,
I am somewhat confused as to what you are attempting. Yes, two separate Worksheet_Change events won't work in one sheet module. You also shouldn't be having to copy/paste manually anymore. You should only need to operate from your Master sheet as that is the purpose of this sheet.
Forget the first code all together and delete it from the sheet module. Just use the second code. You did place the code in a sheet module not a standard module?
In your dropdowns, add "Expired" to the list and make sure that your "Expired" sheet is spelt exactly the same. Once "Expired" is selected, the code will do the rest. If you are wanting to send completed contracts to the "Expired" sheet from the individual sheets, we may have to add a button to each sheet just for that purpose (or add an appropriate Worksheet_Change event code to each sheet module for that purpose).
Let us know your thoughts.
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
I am somewhat confused as to what you are attempting. Yes, two separate Worksheet_Change events won't work in one sheet module. You also shouldn't be having to copy/paste manually anymore. You should only need to operate from your Master sheet as that is the purpose of this sheet.
Forget the first code all together and delete it from the sheet module. Just use the second code. You did place the code in a sheet module not a standard module?
In your dropdowns, add "Expired" to the list and make sure that your "Expired" sheet is spelt exactly the same. Once "Expired" is selected, the code will do the rest. If you are wanting to send completed contracts to the "Expired" sheet from the individual sheets, we may have to add a button to each sheet just for that purpose (or add an appropriate Worksheet_Change event code to each sheet module for that purpose).
Let us know your thoughts.
Cheerio,
vcoolio.
Feb 19, 2017 at 05:27 PM