Report

Choose the program major problem!!! [Solved/Closed]

Ask a question Nick - Last answered on Dec 9, 2012 at 10:21 AM by j
Hey guys,
I really need your help and im hoping someone can help me. Every time I want to open a program it says "choose a program you want to use to run this file". I have tried different methods such as typing in "CMD" to the "Run" section of either my start folder and my Windows Task Manager. Every time I do somthing like typing in one of these codes this choose a program box pops up again and if I click one of the choices it gives me a download, exits the download, and says choose a program again. As you can see I need some help.
See more 
Helpful
+80
plus moins
Greetings to all of you,

Please read this:

The virus in question has modified registry keys which prevents opening programmes. Now, several viruses do that and you may not have all the same virus.

For once in my lifetime, Symantec has created a useful tool. Mind you, Symantec in line with its principal, created a tool which will not remove the virus but at least resolve the open with problem.

I could give you directives to modify registry entries but that would require time and in some cases be risky.

So after running the tool, all of you must download, install, update and run Malwarebyte.

So here are the steps:

1. Download, unzip and run Godzilla Fix:

http://www.symantec.com/connect/sites/default/files/KillGodzilla.zip

2. Download, install, update Malwarebyte and run a FULL (I insist FULL scan)

http://ccm.net/download/download-105-malwarebytes-anti-malware

You may be required to reboot during the process.

3. After the scan delete the items found.

Now if none of you comeback to give me some feedback, my spirit will haunt you for eternity and I will cast a spell on your system. I'am serious.

Best regards
Was this answer helpful?  
Choco- Jun 8, 2011 at 07:02 PM
it worked thanks so much ur the best!!!
Izzy851- Jun 11, 2011 at 12:27 PM
I have this problem however I am having to use my mothers computer to write this as I can not run the internet on mine as this too will not run and therefore I cant download anything??? Please Please help!!! x
Purcell- Jun 15, 2011 at 02:19 PM
I couldn't face a spell cast on my system. Thanks for cleaning up a nasty problem. The hint about running as administrator helped a lot, too.
The Grateful One- Dec 2, 2012 at 08:50 PM
Thanks soooooooo much I've been dealing with with problem for about a yr
j- Dec 9, 2012 at 10:21 AM
worked like a champ thanks A++++
Helpful
+61
plus moins
For Windows 7 Users:

1. Click on the file extension on the hyperlink below to download the .zip file:
EXE.reg

2. Save the .zip file to your desktop.

3. Open the downloaded .zip file, then extract (drag and drop) the .reg file to the desktop.

4. Right click on the extracted .reg file and click on Merge.

5. If prompted, click on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK.

6. When done, you can delete the downloaded .zip and .reg files on the desktop if you like.

7. Log off and log on, or restart the computer to apply.

Good Luck
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - May 11, 2011 at 03:52 AM
Frozenmax

They all work, it all depends on your operating system.
gowanjoe- May 19, 2011 at 10:23 AM
Solved! Thanks man! I feel like a computer genius by using your fix.
SKetch- May 20, 2011 at 08:26 PM
Dude You're a Freking Solar System! Not just a star! Totally fixed my Porblem!
shenny- May 23, 2011 at 04:55 PM
Wow it actually worked.. keep up the good work !!
bionik 4526Posts Thursday August 19, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus August 3, 2016 Last seen - May 23, 2011 at 04:58 PM
Always happy to help ;-)
Helpful
+27
plus moins
For Windows Vista Users


1. Download the .zip file from the hyperlink below:
Exefix_Vista

2. Open the downloaded .zip file, then extract (drag and drop) the .reg file to the desktop.

3. Right click on the extracted .reg file and click on Merge.

4. If prompted, click on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK.

5. When done, you can delete the downloaded .zip and .reg files on the desktop if you like.

6. Log off and log on, or restart the computer to apply.

Good Luck!
bionik 4526Posts Thursday August 19, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus August 3, 2016 Last seen - May 18, 2011 at 04:46 PM
Dear Ambucias,

It will be in face, standing with my 2m04 length, wearing a nice blazer, hands in pockets. Now the descriptions done, hurry up to build that.
SKetch- May 20, 2011 at 08:10 PM
WHat about XP???
bionik 4526Posts Thursday August 19, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus August 3, 2016 Last seen - May 21, 2011 at 02:19 AM
@ SKetch: for XP follow the instructions given by Ambucias in the Permalink 26
Gupts- May 29, 2011 at 12:37 PM
This solved the problem for me.. Thanks a lot :)
tash- Jun 15, 2011 at 09:57 AM
THANK YOU SO MUCH!! my savour <3
Helpful
+1
plus moins
OMG Ambucias You are amazing!! Your insight was greatly appreciated! I had to use this http://www.dougknox.com/xp/file_assoc.htm in order to restore my computer and it was very simple and it worked!! Wish I could ask you another unrelated questions for my laptop!

Many many many thanks!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Mar 15, 2011 at 04:15 PM
KB

I'm blushing.

As for your unrelated question, post it on the forum and begin your title with @ambucias
Helpful
+1
plus moins
Stephen

Try this

Right click your program or link and choose "Run as". In the dialog, uncheck "Protect...". Say ok and now everything will work.

Let me know
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Mar 22, 2011 at 04:12 AM
Rae Have you tried the number one solution? Have you tried to restore the system back to a date prior to the bug?
Rae- Mar 22, 2011 at 08:26 PM
I was missing the step to unzip the file. But it is now fixed!!! Thank you oh so much! Genius!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Mar 23, 2011 at 04:57 AM
Thanks for you feedback Rae. You're a nice person to have done so.
jdubb11- Mar 25, 2011 at 01:02 PM
none of this is working for me please help
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Mar 25, 2011 at 03:44 PM
@jdubb11

Download, install and run Malwarebyte which you can find on this site:

http://ccm.net/download/download-105-malwarebyt es-anti-malware

Ensure you make an update.

Please request a FULL system scan, which may take from 20 minutes to hours. Do not interfere no matter how long in takes. The creators of Malwarebyte recommend that while the tool is running that you go do something else, such as watching a rerun of Gone with the Wind or read Tolstoy's War and Peace.

If Malwarebyte restarts your system, launch it again to finish the Full scan.

When the scan is completed, delete all items found.
Helpful
+1
plus moins
I am trying to run these programs, but I keep coming up with the same message 'open with'. I have tried to run the programs through a flash drive, but they keep coming up with 'open with' as well. Any help would be amazing.
bionik 4526Posts Thursday August 19, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus August 3, 2016 Last seen - May 2, 2011 at 04:27 PM
Underdog,

All these whishes for me, am very glad ;-)

All the pleasure was mine!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - May 2, 2011 at 04:44 PM
Dear Underdog,

Sacrificing a lamb on the alter for my humble Bionik friend would have been quite sufficient !

And what about me I'm his tutor and spiritual guide ? The picture on my profile should prove it to you.

Oh well, us guys that work the most always finish last without any glory. Poop!
bionik 4526Posts Thursday August 19, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus August 3, 2016 Last seen - May 2, 2011 at 05:02 PM
Oh my dear tutor, I owe you all my knowledge but please do not make a soup of lamb with the sacrifice of Underdog ;-)
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - May 2, 2011 at 05:22 PM
Lamb soup! Beurk!
bionik 4526Posts Thursday August 19, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus August 3, 2016 Last seen - May 2, 2011 at 05:28 PM
Oh, don't be shy tutor, it will be a secret between us, but admit that you like it!
Helpful
+0
plus moins
Ambucias,

that fix worked like a charm!!

thanks a bunch
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Apr 24, 2010 at 05:34 PM
Well great! You are totally welcome and thank you for your feedback!

Best regards
ThanksAbucias- Feb 22, 2011 at 05:09 PM
Scanning now and AVG has found an registery key with reference to infected file, this has to be it! thanks!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Feb 23, 2011 at 05:36 AM
You are welcome, but please use Malwarebyte as AVG will not pick up everything
Helpful
+0
plus moins
Thank You Amubias! I just fixed my little brother's computer after he has had this issue for over 6 months! Thanks Again
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Dec 31, 2010 at 05:06 AM
You are quite welcome George. Give to the next, start a trend!
Helpful
+0
plus moins
Thank u very much. Worked for me too. Many thanks
Helpful
+0
plus moins
Thank you for this, I was helping a friend out and it found 5 Infections, But its still asking what program to open it with, I run the tool you gave us, and it says I should reboot, I had him reboot, and it still had the same problem. Is there another program that should be able to fix this?
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Mar 18, 2011 at 03:55 AM
Stephen

What is the OS?
How did you desinfect?
Stephen- Mar 18, 2011 at 08:42 AM
I am using Vista OS and I disinfected with Malwarebyte
Helpful
+0
plus moins
Ambucias, much thanks.
Helpful
+0
plus moins
thanks for the help!
MikeyB- Apr 9, 2011 at 06:26 PM
YEAHHHHHH!!!!! Everything is working again. Thanks so much!
anonymous- Apr 18, 2011 at 06:19 PM
Ambucias,

You are THE MAN. I followed your instructions to address the issue. It worked like a charm. I can't resist to post this message.
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Apr 19, 2011 at 03:59 AM
You are totally welcome
melissa- Apr 19, 2011 at 01:13 PM
thank you soooooo much! I was just about to take my computer in to be fixed.. so I downloaded that and put it on my computer (i figured how much more damage could I possibly do lol) .. I just want to say thank you SOOOO much!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Apr 19, 2011 at 04:15 PM
Melissa,
Let's start a world wide chain, now you help someone else, with anything, it can be something simple like helping an old lady to cross the street or donate blood...why not a kidney:-)
Helpful
+0
plus moins
It will not let me open anything in order to download that or open anything. I'm using my phone right now to try to find a solution... please help!!!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Apr 21, 2011 at 04:03 AM
Try boot in safemode with networking
candireed1993- Apr 21, 2011 at 05:59 AM
I tried that as well. It stills pops up of what to open with :(
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Apr 21, 2011 at 04:00 PM
Do you have access to another healthy system and a pendrive or flashdrive? If so download to the pendrive and then run them on your computer
candireed1993- Apr 21, 2011 at 08:46 PM
YOU. ARE. AMAZING. it worked! :) thanks times a million!
Ambucias 40693Posts Monday February 1, 2010Registration date ModeratorStatus April 29, 2017 Last seen - Apr 22, 2011 at 04:02 AM
Just great. You're welcome.

Member requests are more likely to be responded to.

Members can monitor the statuses of their requests from their account pages.

A CCM membership gives you access to additional options.

Not a member yet?

Sign up now. It takes less than a minute and is completely free!