Excel worksheet help

Solved/Closed
Shams - Jun 26, 2009 at 05:23 PM
venkat1926 Posts 1863 Registration date Sunday June 14, 2009 Status Contributor Last seen August 7, 2021 - Jun 26, 2009 at 08:07 PM
Hello,
So i've tried like hell to figure this out but have no programming skills at all. I have basic excel experience most of it self taugh or what i've picked up from reading threads.
What i have is an excel file with 2 separate sheets in a workbook and the first sheet will be a listing of different navy slings along with all info about that one sling spread accross the row.
Each new row has a new and saparate sling assembly part number (p/n#)
as an example; once the info for an x number of slings is entered i will move to worksheet #2 and print the template.
i want to select the part number and make a drop down of all p/n# from sheet#1. when a p/n# is selected i want the other 6 cells to fill in with the correct info.

i could sit there and write a bunch of IF arguements that would get the job done but considering i could have as many as 40 different slings i will have to add and you can only have 8 IF arguements per cell that is going going to take alot of debugging. and like i said i'm very amateur to this.

any help i recieve is greatly appreciated. plz email me @ brainfreezejuly77@yahoo.com if you want me to email you the xls file so you can get a look at what i'm trying to describe

1 response

venkat1926 Posts 1863 Registration date Sunday June 14, 2009 Status Contributor Last seen August 7, 2021 811
Jun 26, 2009 at 08:07 PM
I am not sure there are any provision to post a sheet in this forum

let us see
sheet 1 has part no. in column A and data for each part no. in column B to G (row 1 is column headings)

in sheet 2 the cells A2 down have validation list (of part nos. in sheet 1).-here also row 1 has column headings.
in B2 of sheet 2 type this formula (including dollar signs)

=VLOOKUP($A2,Sheet1!$A$1:$G$500,COLUMN(B1),FALSE)