Connecting two computers into a router

Closed
Confused - Feb 15, 2009 at 01:17 AM
 lynn - Sep 14, 2010 at 03:18 AM
Hello,
I'm a fairly big newbie when it comes to networking, and I was trying to set up a network among my cousins' two computers via ethernet cables and a router. I foolishly thought that it was as simple as plugging in the dsl modem ethernet cable into the router where indicated, and plugging in the two individual ethernet cables from both computers into one of the 4/5 slots. I believe I was using the BEFSR41 Linksys Router (http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/BEFSR41 and it was bought brand-new. After having done so, and WITHOUT installing any software, I tested both computers by trying to open an internet browser and surfing the internet. Both worked for 20-30 minutes simultaneously, so I left assuming everything was fine. However, a half hour after I had left, I was told that only one computer could be online at one time, and the other would not connect at all. I probably shouldn't post before at least installing the router onto both computers, but I was curious if that was not all that it takes. Again, I'm a completely ignorant newbie when it comes to networking and I was hoping someone could give me some advice, or at least point me in the right direction. Thanks.

2 responses

NickNYC Posts 14 Registration date Saturday February 14, 2009 Status Member Last seen February 17, 2009
Feb 15, 2009 at 02:36 AM
With the Computer you are using now to view this....

Hold down the SHIFT KEY and Click on the link below to view the Router Manual...
Or copy/paste the address to a browser's address box and hit ENTER... on the keyboard.

ftp://ftp.linksys.com/pub/manuals/befsr41.pdf

1. Connect your DSL MODEM to your Router's WAN Port.

2. Connect one of your computers to Port 1 of the router.

3. Open a Browser window and type in this address.
Or
Click on the link below... (Hold down the SHIFT Key before you click on the link below.