How to automatically copy selected cells to different sheets?

Closed
NessaP - May 8, 2017 at 02:58 PM
vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 - May 27, 2017 at 12:01 AM
Hello,
I am trying to build an Excel workbook that records information from certain invoices in one sheet and then categorizes them into other specific sheets within the same workbook. How do I copy the selected information from Sheet1 into the individual category sheets automatically?
For example:
Sheet1 (Master Sheet) columns:
Date (01/01/2014) , Vendor (Walmart), Amount (12.00), Category (Groceries)

Copy automatically to:

Sheet2 (Groceries)
Date, Vendor, Amount, Category

Is there a special formula? I'm new to building Excel pages, so I would appreciate all the help or advice I can get. Let me know if I can provide more information.
Thanks!

5 responses

vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 259
May 8, 2017 at 10:42 PM
Hello NessaP,

I assume that you have a number of categories with each having an individual sheet. You would like each relevant row of category data to be transferred from the Master sheet to its individual sheet once a category is typed into a cell in Column D.
Is the "used" data to be cleared from the Master sheet once transferred to its individual sheet?
How many categories are there?

Let us know if the assumptions are correct.

Cheerio,
vcoolio.
Thank you, vcoolio, for your response. You have seemed to grasp my situation well.

No, I do not want the "used" information removed from the Master sheet when it is copied to the individual sheets.
I have 12 categories lined up horizontally (each with their own column) in the following order:

Date, PO#, Description, Amount, Vendor, Account, Dept. Cat., Invoice/Acct. #, Budget Cat., User, Date Ent., Notes.