Can't open any programs windows 7 [Solved/Closed]

Report
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017
-
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017
-
Hello, I recently got a bad virus and can't open any programs.
I've tried using rkill but I can't get any of the versions to run.
I've also tried to start rkill before the virus has a chance to load it's program but I'm not quick enough.
Any help?

10 replies

Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
Hi

It may not be a rogue trojan.

To help you and prescribe the remedy, I must make a diagnostic and to do so, I require a report.

1. Open this link and download ZHPDiag :
https://www.nicolascoolman.com/fr/download/zhpdiag/
(Don't be alarmed is the site is in French, it sometimes happens, the tool will take your system language and allow the download if you get a warning message, ignore it.) Click on the download button

2. Save the file on your Desktop.

3. Double click on ZHPDiag.exe and follow the installation instructions.

(For Vista, Win 7 and 8 users, click right to ensure you execute with admin right)

4. Double click on the short cut ZHPDiag on your Destktop.

5 Click on scan
Wait for the tool to finished (maybe a long time)

6. Close ZHPDiag.

7. To transmit the report, click on this link :

http://www.tinyupload.com/index.php

8. Search the directory where you installed ZHPDiag (usually C:\desktop\zhpdiag.txt).
9. Copy the url link obtained from tinyupload and paste it here in your reply.
Ambucias
CCM Moderator and Virus/Security Contributor
2
Thank you

A few words of thanks would be greatly appreciated. Add comment

CCM 3248 users have said thank you to us this month

Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

Unfortunately when I try to run the diagnostic program (I downloaded it off of another computer then moved it to the desktop) it freezes my deskop and doesn't respond for a minute or two then nothing happens

Thanks for the reply! - Akn
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
You must not transfer from another computer.
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017
>
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020

I can't get internet explorer nor any other internet programs to run on the infected laptop.
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211 >
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

Try to boot in safe mode with networking
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017
>
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020

When I start the computer and press f8 to bring up the boot options like safe mode nothing happens. It always boots normally.
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
I suggest you restore your computer to a date prior to the occurrence of the problem.
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

Would I do this with system restore in the control panel or would I do it another way, the control panel tends to freeze.
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

When I try to run system restore from command prompt it freezes then does nothing
I also tried to run cmd as an admin and tried to force windows to boot into safe mode by using "bcdedit /set {default} safeboot network"
But it said "the boot configuration data store could not be opened.
Access is denied"
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
It's not from the control panel.

See this CCM How-to

https://ccm.net/faq/6693-system-restore-on-windows-7
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

When I searched restore from the start menu and clicked system restore it said "C:\windows\system32\rstrui.exe
The requested resource is in use"
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
Reboot and try again
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

Same story.
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
Go to your task manager, see if rstrui.exe is there and end the task.
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

Task manager starts but immediately becomes unresponsive.
Posts
48725
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
June 23, 2020
15,211
I am stumped!

Looks like you operating system is corrupted and must be repaired.

Since you do not have access to your system restore, in my view:

1. You can use your recovery or Windows disk to repair or

2. reset to factory setting but then all of your data will be lost.

Feel free to google another solution is you wish.

Best regards and good luck
Posts
10
Registration date
Wednesday May 17, 2017
Status
Member
Last seen
May 18, 2017

Thanks for the help.

-akn