Mac VBA & Excel, auto change image based on a cell

Closed
winstoncheets Posts 12 Registration date Thursday June 7, 2018 Status Member Last seen June 9, 2018 - Jun 7, 2018 at 03:21 PM
winstoncheets Posts 12 Registration date Thursday June 7, 2018 Status Member Last seen June 9, 2018 - Jun 9, 2018 at 03:15 PM
Hello,

I'm trying to produce a simple excel spreadsheet on my Macbook which automatically changes the image in cell B3 when I change the name in A3.
A3 contains a filename 'pic1' which is saved in a folder on my desktop 'pictures.'
A1 contains =picturelookup(A3,B3,1)

I'm using this code, which I found on the website exceloffthegrid:

I open a blank spreadsheet, enabled developer, right clicked on the sheet1 tab and clicked 'View Code.'
This opened the VBA where I pasted the code see pic above. The file is saved as a macro enabled worksheet xslm file, also on my desktop.

I'm new to VBA and think that I may have missed some very basic steps as the nothing seems to be happening.

Hope you can help,
Dan

Public Function picturelookup(Value As String, Location As Range, Index As Integer)

Application.Volatile

Dim lookupPicture As Shape
Dim sheetName As String
Dim picTop As Double
Dim picLeft As Double

sheetName = Location.Parent.Name

'Delete current picture with the same Index if exists
For Each lookupPicture In Sheets(sheetName).Shapes
    If lookupPicture.Name = "PictureLookup" & Index Then
        lookupPicture.Delete
    End If
Next lookupPicture

'Get position of cell calling the UDF
picTop = Location.Top
picLeft = Location.Left

'Add the picture in the right location
Set lookupPicture = Sheets(sheetName).Shapes.AddPicture _
("/Users/danielcheetham/Desktop/pictures" & Value & ".png", msoFalse, msoTrue, picLeft, picTop, -1, -1)

'change the picture name
lookupPicture.Name = "PictureLookup" & Index

picturelookup = ""

End Function

Related:

7 responses

Blocked Profile
Jun 7, 2018 at 05:23 PM
Are you danielcheetham?
Having some same issue.
Blocked Profile