My Western Digital My Cloud NAS drive has a red light on

Solved/Closed
SandraLewisFrin Posts 2 Registration date Thursday February 17, 2022 Status Member Last seen April 20, 2022 - Mar 9, 2022 at 05:41 AM
Irina2207 Posts 46 Registration date Friday January 21, 2022 Status Member Last seen June 26, 2023 - Mar 14, 2022 at 01:15 AM
My hard drive isn't spinning, and I was hoping someone could tell me how to get the data off of it. I've considered taking it apart to see if it still works, but I've never done anything like that before. If anyone has any videos or software I could use, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your kind words.
Related:

1 response

Irina2207 Posts 46 Registration date Friday January 21, 2022 Status Member Last seen June 26, 2023 34
Mar 14, 2022 at 01:15 AM
Unfortunately, there’s nothing you can do on your own when you have a hard drive that’s not spinning up. This is because there’s nothing you can do to repair your hard drive or replace whatever is broken inside it.

So what do you do if you have a lot of files on your hard drive–whether it’s your PC’s internal hard disk or an external drive–that you didn’t have backed up? Are they gone forever?

Not quite. There’s still a chance you can get your data back–and that’s by sending your hard drive to a professional data recovery lab.

OR Option 1. Check the Power Surge/Supply
If there is a burning smell on your hard drive, your hard drive may suffer from a power surge, which can damage the PCB on your hard drive. In this case, you need to further figure out which component is damaged and replace the component with the one on the same and functional PCB.

Option 2; Troubleshoot PCB