Hard drive not detected

Closed
loveberri Posts 2 Registration date Sunday October 6, 2013 Status Member Last seen October 6, 2013 - Oct 6, 2013 at 12:31 PM
loveberri Posts 2 Registration date Sunday October 6, 2013 Status Member Last seen October 6, 2013 - Oct 6, 2013 at 06:12 PM
Hello,

I have a Western Digital 2TB Elements drive that I've been using for a few years and was working fine up until yesterday. This drive is completely encrypted using True Crypt and after dismounting it two nights ago, the drive is no longer being detected by my laptop. I didn't check to see if the drive disappeared after dismount or when I reactivated my computer after putting it to sleep yesterday morning.

Here are the steps I've already performed to fix the problem:
1) Unplugged and replugged in the usb cable
2) External drives gets power from its own power brick, so unplugged and replugged it in both directly into wall outlet and into a power strip. The drive's indicator light is still on regardless.
3) Tried a different usb cable (also plugged in the original cable into another drive and that still worked, so probably not a cable problem)
4) Looked into both Device Manager and Disk Management in computer management, the drive does not show up anywhere.
5) Uninstalled all USB drivers in device manager and restarted the computer to let devices reinstall drivers. This actually worked once, I was able to mount the drive again and access the drive, but it was acting very slowly so I dismounted the drive and restarted the computer again. Only this time the drive once again does not appear. I tried uninstalling all the USB drivers again and the drive continues to not show. I've tried this again multiple times with no luck.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Related:

1 response

Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,169
Oct 6, 2013 at 04:18 PM
Now for step 6, try this: