Toshiba satellite pro turns on then off [Solved/Closed]

Report
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
-
Computertech
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
-
I have a toshiba satellite pro. One day I turned it off and went out and when I came back it turned on then immediately off. If I hold the power button it does this repeatedly until I take out battery. It shuts off instantly, I can't even make it to the bios. I've tried a hard reset, switching ram and using a monitor. Nothing has worked so far. I want to know if I can solve this or if I have to take it to a shop. Oh and one more thing. If I take out my ram it turns on but has a black screen.
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
891
switch off the laptop
Remove the RAM.(How many RAM you have?)
Remove the battery.
Reseat the RAM
connect it to direct power adapter.
switch on the laptop
2
Thank you

A few words of thanks would be greatly appreciated. Add comment

CCM 5769 users have said thank you to us this month

BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
Ok uhh... since I was struggling to put the second ram in I only used one. It turned on but the screen is black. What now?
BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
Wait no actually I saw that I wasn't putting the ram in properly and now I see it's doing what it was before
ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1573
@COMPUTERTECH...deleted! PUT IN RAM AFTER APPLYING POWER?
BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1 > ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019

Is that a suggestion?
BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1 > ac3mark
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019

Tried doing that didnt work XD
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
Is there anybody out there who can help?
Posts
13031
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
October 11, 2019
1573
Slow down! You went from won't boot, to installing RAM! Take out all the RAM you just put in. Reboot! What happens?
BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
turns on, black screen
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
ok I found out something new. if I have it turned on without ram and have the black screen, it wont turn off with power button, I have to remove my charger. hope its a good clue to the solution
Posts
51375
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
December 12, 2019
13500
Permit my two pence worth.

This issue certainly looks like a mummy board failure, probably at the power supply end of it.

I strongly suggest you consult a competent technician for an appraisal and possible repair.

Sorry but that's how the cookie crumbles.

Your friendly neighbourhood moderator
BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
Heh, I was actually planning to take it tomorrow
Ambucias
Posts
51375
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
December 12, 2019
13500 > BlackLaptop
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015

Well what do you know, we both thought about the same thing almost at the same time!

We are two peas in a pod!

Please, we would be interested to know what the tech person says. You might be able to help us and others.

I wish you a cheap, affordable errand.
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
the dude said it was my graphics card. he said £25 for checking and if it is graphics card £75 to replace. I told my dad not to take the offer cuz I know very well that you cant replace a graphics card on a toshiba satellite. gettinf a new laptop :D
Computertech
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
891
Thanks for sharing!

Regards
Posts
18
Registration date
Sunday October 18, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 20, 2015
1
Ok, I tried taking out ram and then a hard reset... Still no luck